top of page


Suzanne Simmerman

Building Inspector

Gary Dubois

Cell # 812-821-5356



60 S. Main St.
Spencer, IN 47460​


The Building Department is now combined with GIS/Mapping for better service. All in one Office.

Each permit may have specific and/or individual issues; therefore, ALL permits must be obtained in the Building Department Office located at 60 S. Main St, Spencer IN 47460. To help assure building safety, the Building Department works with local residents, builders, and developers to be sure residential and commercial building in the Owen County meets County building codes.


The Department’s duties include:

  • Issuing building permits for commercial and residential building.

  • Conducting building plan checks and inspections.

  • Assisting the public with building concerns, and code enforcement issues.




Driveway permits are issued by the County Building dept.

or INDOT (if along state highway)

Please contact the office before sending in any payments

All Public Records Requests must be done on the form above.

Plan Commission

Plan Commission Members:

Norman Warner

Donna McIntyre

Bill Purcell

Mike Swafford

Chad VanRyn


Amy Meier


County Council Appointment

Amy Casebeer


Agricultural Extension Educator
Kenneth Sebastian


County Commissioner Appointment
Bob Curry




Board of Zoning Appeals


BZA Board Members:

County Council Appointment

Corbin Abrell

Planning Commission Appointment
Norman Warner


Dustin Combs

Beth Wood 


Sandy Calvert

The Next meeting for the Plan Commission will be held on March 19th at 6:30 PM in the Commissioners Room on the Second Floor.
The Next meeting for the BZA will be held on at 7 pm in the Commissioners room on the second floor. 
For the month of April, the Building & Mapping Dept will be closed on and off every Monday. Please call or email the office.
bottom of page