top of page

Shelly Townsend

[email protected]

60 S Main St Rm 102B
Spencer, IN 47460


Mail property tax bills to:
PO BOX 600
Spencer, IN 47460


The County Treasurer’s Office is responsible for billing and collecting property taxes and special assessments on real estate, personal property, and mobile homes located in the County.  This office also receives additional collections from innkeepers’ tax, Boat and Aircraft excise taxes as well. These funds are invested until they are distributed to various taxing units within the County (cities, towns, townships, schools, and libraries) or until they are disbursed for the County’s operating expenses.

The Treasurer is also responsible for Mobile Home Transfers and Mobile Home Moving Permits, those permits are processed between the hours of 8:00am and 12:00pm and between 1:00pm and 3:30pm Monday through Friday. 

The Treasurer's Office will be closed on the following days:

Independence Day - July 4, 2023

Labor Day - September 4, 2023

Columbus Day - October 9, 2023

Veterans Day - November 10, 2023

Thanksgiving - November 23 & 24, 2023

Christmas - December 22 & 25, 2023


Spring installment is due: May 10, 2023

Fall installment is due:  November 13, 2023

Property tax payments can be paid in the Treasurer's office Monday though Friday, 8:00am to 12:00pm and 1:00pm to 4:00pm. You may also visit The Peoples State Bank located in Spencer at 304 E Morgan Street on the following dates: October 30th - November 13, 2023. If you choose to pay at this location, they require your coupons to process the payment and will not accept cash or credit cards for payment.

Pay your property taxes on-line [ CLICK HERE ]

Tax Sale 2023 : September 6, 2023 @ 10:00am

Location: Commissioner Room 2nd Floor Courthouse

Tax Sale:


Online services available and their rates:

  1. Credit Card services 2.95%

  2. E-Checks services $1.00 flat fee.

  3. Multiple parcels may be paid at once


At the counter:

  1. Credit Card services 2.95%

  2. Debit Card services $3.95 flat fee.


The Owen County Treasurer’s office is now offering an additional tool to view live tax data and payments. Click Here


Treasurer Forms Available On-Line: Click Here

bottom of page