top of page

The county council is the fiscal body of the county government. It has seven members, three of which are elected county-wide (commonly referred to at-large members) and four of which are elected from districts. District One includes Harrison, Montgomery, Taylor, and Wayne Townships including the Town of Gosport. District Two includes Washington Township including the Town of Spencer. District Three includes Jackson, Jennings, Lafayette, and Morgan Townships. District Four includes Clay, Franklin, Jefferson, and Marion Townships. All council members serve four-year terms with at-large members elected during Presidential election cycles and district members elected during the other election cycles. One of the council members serves as president and another as vice-president. The council is responsible for setting salaries, the annual budget, and special spending. The council also has limited authority to impose local taxes, in the form of an income and property tax that is subject to state level approval, excise taxes, and service taxes. Several local boards such as the Alcoholic Beverage Board and Library Board have a member or members appointed by the council.

Public Meetings are held on the Second Monday of every month at 6:00 p.m. in the commissioner’s room on the second floor of the courthouse.

Council Members

Amy Casebeer

At-Large Member

812-829-7078 (Cell)

Polly Chesser

At-Large member

812-821-2914 (Cell)

Andy Wood

At-Large member

812-585-1279 (Cell)

Nick Robertson

District 1 member 

Harrison, Montgomery, Taylor, and Wayne Townships 

812-829-6708 (Cell)

Anton Karl Neff

District 2 member 

Washington Township 

812-829-4254 (Cell)

Steve Carrell

District 3 member

Jackson, Jennings, Lafayette, and Morgan Townships 

812-652-8894 (Cell)

Verl Keith

District 4 member

Clay, Franklin, Jefferson, and Marion Townships 

812-821-1211 (Cell)

2021 Community Services Grant Application

All Public Records Request must be done on the form above

Please complete one form per Department

bottom of page