top of page

Gary Burton

Jackson, Harrison, Jennings, Taylor,
Montgomery & Wayne Townships

812-327-1489 (Cell)


Bob Curry

Washington, Clay, & Franklin Townships

812-585-1345 (Cell)


Joel Lowe

Lafayette, Morgan, Marion &
Jefferson Townships


Owen County Ordinances and Resolutions: Click Here

Commissioner Meeting Minutes and Audio Files: Click Here

The executive body of the county is made of a board of commissioners with three members. The commissioners are elected county-wide, however, each must reside in their respective districts, two of which are elected during Presidential election cycles and the other during the other election cycles. Each serves a four-year term. The District One member must reside in Harrison, Jackson, Jennings, Montgomery, Taylor, or Wayne Townships. The District Two member must reside in Clay, Franklin, or Washington Townships. The District Three member must reside in Jefferson, Lafayette, Marion, or Morgan Townships. One of the commissioners serves as president and another as vice-president. The commissioners are charged with executing the acts legislated by the council, collecting revenue, and managing the day-to-day functions of the county government.

Public Meetings are posted to the calendar on this website. The meetings are held in the commissioner’s room on the second floor of the courthouse.

All Public Records Request must be done on the form above

Please complete one form per Department

bottom of page