OWEN COUNTY COUNCIL Zoom Meeting Presentation

PUBLIC HEARING FEBRUARY 23, 2021

Meeting was called to order by President, Andy Wood.

Roll was called: Members present by Zoom Andy Wood, Verl Keith, Amy Casebeer Polly Chesser, Anton Neff, and Nick Robertson. Auditor Sheila Reeves was at the Courthouse.

Other Zoom Attendees: Patty

Mr. Wood opened the Public Hearing and introduced Janet Rummel-CEO with the Owen County Community Foundation, Inc. to present the 2021 State of Indiana-Office of Community and Rural Affairs State Community Block Grant Program in the amount of \$250,000.

The Goal of the Grant process is to meet increased need for mental health services resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Sub-recipient Agreement was presented for the Owen County Council and the Owen County Community Foundation, Inc. for State of Indiana – Office of Community and Rural Affairs State Community Development Block Grant Program. (Attached for permanent record)

Attachment "A" of the Agreement was reviewed for the exact projects to be implemented. (attached for permanent record)

- 1. Primary focus areas include Payment to Mental Health Providers.
- 2. After-hours Crisis Support.
- 3. Youth Mental Health Services.

The Grant Cycle would run from April 1, 2021 through March 31, 2022.

Member's present felt that the project was very needed in our community. Ms. Casebeer as a teacher everyday sees many of the issues discussed. Mr. Neff liked that the monies were being spread over multiple areas in the community. Mr. Wood thanked her and the Foundation for the hard work in putting this together for the greater good of the County and its residents.

At this time Mr. Wood asked if any Public on Zoom had comment(s). No comments were made. Anton Neff made a motion to close the Public Hearing; seconded by Nick Robertson. Motion carried 6-0. Mr. Neff made a motion to approve the Grant Application Request and to allow President of the Council Andy Wood to sign the Agreement. Motion was seconded by Nick Robertson. Motion carried 6-0.

A motion to adjourn was made by Anton Neff, seconded by Amy Casebeer. Motion carried 6-0.